Home| Meetings & Minutes| Officers | Membership | Contact


Technical Achievement Award

Past Recipients

  • 2014 CTTC Technical Achievement Award

    Reinaldo Valenzuela for fundamental work on wireless channel modeling and MIMO communication systems.

    Norman Beaulieu for fundamental work on the analysis of fading channels and diversity systems.

  • 2013 CTTC Technical Achievement Award

    Andrea Goldsmith for contributions to the analysis of fundamental performance limits for wireless channels and networks.

  • 2012 CTTC Technical Achievement Award

    Laurence B. Milstein for fundamental work on spread spectrum communication.

  • 2011 CTTC Technical Achievement Award

    Sergio Benedetto for fundamental contributions to the analysis and design of turbo codes.

  • 2010 CTTC Technical Achievement Award

    Gerard J. Foschini for pioneering work on multiple input multiple output wireless communication.

    Dariush Divsalar for pioneering work on modulation theory, error correcting codes, and iterative decoding.


 A recognition plaque.

Basis For Judging

The award will recognize members of the Communication Theory Technical Committee (CTTC) of the IEEE Communications Society who have been involved with CTTC, have done outstanding work in communication theory, and have achieved a high degree of visibility in the field.


 Annually, at GLOBECOM, or by request the Communication Theory Workshop or ICC. No more than two awards will be given per year.


Nominations will be accepted by e-mail from the CTTC members in the Fall with nominations due 30 June of the year the award is to be made. The nomination should include a short sentence on the outstanding technical contribution and one page of supporting material. Additionally, letters supporting the nomination may be sent electronically to the CTTC Award Committee Chair together with the nomination or separately. No CTTC Awards Committee member can be nominated while they serve. In addition, the current chair of the CTTC cannot be nominated.

CTTC  Awards Committee

The CTTC Awards Committee will consist of 5 members as follows:

  1. Erik Perrins, Chair (esp@ku.edu)

  2. Andrea Goldsmith, committee member
  3. Angel Lozano, committee member

  4. Daniela Tuninetti, committee member

  5. Jack Winters, committee member